LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Steward's Tomb and the Ring  (Read 3433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 13, 2014, 04:50:27 AM
Read 3433 times

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« on: August 13, 2014, 04:50:27 AM »
Quick question: does Steward's tomb prevent the One Ring's response? Or allow you to add a burden for no effect? The ring bearer is "about to take a wound", and the Ring is preventing that wound even though it doesn't technically say "add a burden to prevent the wound".

August 13, 2014, 06:35:40 AM
Reply #1

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2014, 06:35:40 AM »
It has been ruled that what The One Ring does is not "preventing" wounds (it doesn't use the word "prevent"), it converts wounds, so Steward's Tomb does not affect it.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

August 13, 2014, 11:10:10 PM
Reply #2

dmaz

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 555
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2014, 11:10:10 PM »
Just so I'm completely clear on all this now...

So the one ring does not "prevent" the wounds. BUT in a case where wounding the ringbearer is a cost for something, IF you use the ring to "convert" to burdens, you technically aren't paying the cost, right? I'm sure I've seen this happen with a Brute, but I just wanted to make sure :)

August 14, 2014, 12:18:11 AM
Reply #3

Eukalyptus

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 429
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2014, 12:18:11 AM »
For Morgul Brute your example is correct. The Brute adds 1 burden and the freeps player may wound the RB to prevent this. If he wounds the RB and converts that wound to a burden, the cost has not been payed and the burden through Brute is added, effectively adding 2 burdens

August 14, 2014, 03:09:31 AM
Reply #4

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2014, 03:09:31 AM »
It doesn't say burdens can't be prevented, just can't be removed. So you should still be able to wound Frodo to prevent the burden.

August 14, 2014, 03:26:12 AM
Reply #5

Eukalyptus

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 429
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2014, 03:26:12 AM »
That wasn't dmaz' question ;)

August 14, 2014, 04:17:52 AM
Reply #6

BigRedMF

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 114
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2014, 04:17:52 AM »
Ah you're right, read it when I first woke up this morning...

August 14, 2014, 05:13:58 AM
Reply #7

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Steward's Tomb and the Ring
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2014, 05:13:58 AM »
Just so I'm completely clear on all this now...

So the one ring does not "prevent" the wounds. BUT in a case where wounding the ringbearer is a cost for something, IF you use the ring to "convert" to burdens, you technically aren't paying the cost, right? I'm sure I've seen this happen with a Brute, but I just wanted to make sure :)

Whether you convert the wound with The One Ring, or prevent the wound using another card, if you aren't actually taking the wound, then you aren't paying the cost. With a Morgul Brute situation, you have to actually take the wound in order to prevent the burden.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir