LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

The Lord of the Rings TCG Wiki: Raceless


Raceless is a curious matter of a card having no race. All characters have a built-in unloaded keyword that is their race that cannot be removed from it, but a handful of cards prove the exception to this rule. Smeagol/Gollum are the most prominent examples, but when Reflections came around both Tom Bombadil and Goldberry shared this abnormality. The reason for Decipher choosing to have “no race” as their race seems a bit strange, especially considering they already had a catch-all race for things you couldn't determine the race of (see Creature), though perhaps this seemed a bit too “icky” or “sinister”.

A hint is offered in the Current Rulings Document, where the unique rules on the treatment of such an unrace are outlined (as pertain to Smeagol/Gollum specifically, but by extension also apply to Tom and Goldberry). See the Current Rulings Document, the relevant portion of which is excerpted below:

From the Current Rulings Document:
Character cards that represent the unique aspects of Gollum or Sméagol have no race. This does not mean that these cards have “a race of no race.” When an effect tells you to count (or choose or spot) a race, Gollum/Sméagol can’t be counted (or chosen or spotted).

A Shadow player must spot a race for Argument Ready to Hand. Gollum doesn't have a race to be spotted.

Sméagol is not a companion whose race you cannot spot.

When The Nine Walkers is in play, Sméagol does not have his cost reduced.

When an effect tells you to do something to minions of other races, that does not work on Gollum/Sméagol.

Argument Ready to Hand can’t discard Gollum, since he is not “of all other minion races” (he is not of any minion race).

When an effect tells you to do something to all minions who do not belong to a particular race, that does work on Gollum/Sméagol.

If an effect says, “Discard all minions not of the Orc race,” then Gollum is discarded.

As you can see, this is not the reason the Old Forest was cut.

Cards with No Race

Gollum (Free Peoples)

Gollum (Shadow)


raceless.txt · Last modified: 2014/04/28 18:35 (external edit)

Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported