LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima  (Read 7417 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

November 30, 2008, 12:01:17 PM
Read 7417 times

OneFathom

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 407
The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« on: November 30, 2008, 12:01:17 PM »

November 30, 2008, 01:12:47 PM
Reply #1

FM

  • Future Judge
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4074
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 01:12:47 PM »
Yes, I believe they can.

November 30, 2008, 01:56:18 PM
Reply #2

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1933
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 01:56:18 PM »
yes, absolutely, and i suggest adding ferny into the mix. :up:

November 30, 2008, 02:08:54 PM
Reply #3

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 02:08:54 PM »
And Mauhur and Nertea, Dark Horseman
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

November 30, 2008, 02:53:42 PM
Reply #4

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1933
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 02:53:42 PM »
yeah, i started to make a self-assigning minion deck one time, a while ago. but i sort of stopped before finishing. haha, i know, lame.

November 30, 2008, 06:23:18 PM
Reply #5

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 06:23:18 PM »
I don't think so. Assignment actions can only assign in a 1-to-1 ratio, I thought. Unless a minion is just plain left unassigned.
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

November 30, 2008, 06:52:06 PM
Reply #6

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1933
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2008, 06:52:06 PM »
not if the shadow player is assigning

December 01, 2008, 12:45:42 AM
Reply #7

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2008, 12:45:42 AM »
I agree with EL, i had this back in tower block, i was using the southron you spot 5 companions to assign him to the RB unless you add 5 and i wanted to do it twice but i was proven wrong that i couldnt do it. Doesnt matter if the shadow is doing it, if a guy is assigned you cant force another assignment action on them as EL said, its 1 on 1.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

December 01, 2008, 03:44:38 AM
Reply #8

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2008, 03:44:38 AM »
I checked the rules book and EL and lem0n are correct

"Many assignment actions assign a minion to a companion. You cannot do this unless both of them are unassigned."
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

December 01, 2008, 04:08:06 AM
Reply #9

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2008, 04:08:06 AM »
Haha yes result! If you could do what everyone is suggesting the game would be broke beyond compare, as there are a multitude of ways to pile 3 or 4 minions on a companion using assignment actions.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

December 01, 2008, 06:40:57 AM
Reply #10

macheteman

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1933
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2008, 06:40:57 AM »
haha, i stand corrected.

December 01, 2008, 08:03:11 AM
Reply #11

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2008, 08:03:11 AM »
If that companion has defender bonuses, though....

Seriously though. Self-assigning minions are best tied to cards like Desperate Defense Of The Ring and Sense Of Obligation.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2008, 08:04:45 AM by DáinIronfoot »
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

December 01, 2008, 09:25:37 PM
Reply #12

SomeRandomDude

  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 7004
  • Most Likely To Usurp Kralik and Dáin
    • My Wordpress
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #12 on: December 01, 2008, 09:25:37 PM »
Actually, there's a subtle difference between the Fernys and, say, Mouth.

Mauhur, Mouth and Grima have an "Assignment:" ability.

Nertea and Ferny prevent the freeps from assigning. After all assignment actions have occurred and free peoples players have assigned the minions, any unassigned minions can be assigned to any companion.

Yeah, I use both Mouth and 1 copy of Ferny SSF in my expanded [Sauron] discard corrupt for the purpose of Desperate Defense of the Ring and Thin and Stretched.
NB- 4 year veteran of CC/TLHH

"It was like:
Kralik: "What hath God wrought"
NB: "I dunno, but I'm in ur house eating ur food.""
-Elessar's Socks

Trade List- ft. Aragorn, Defender of Rohan

December 01, 2008, 10:15:32 PM
Reply #13

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #13 on: December 01, 2008, 10:15:32 PM »
I checked the rules book and EL and lem0n are correct

"Many assignment actions assign a minion to a companion. You cannot do this unless both of them are unassigned."
I was thinking, based on this, would you still not be able to assign to an already assigned companion with a defender bonus?

December 02, 2008, 01:01:42 AM
Reply #14

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: The Mouth of Sauron and Age's End Grima
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2008, 01:01:42 AM »
If that companion has defender bonuses, though....

This answers both DI's and ELs question. Regardless of defender its still done on a one to one basis. The rule doesnt have any loop holes in it. it is done on a 1 v 1. The free peoples cant get punished for having defender bonuses by getting 2 self assigning minions on them. The freeps chooses the second assignment as a perk of having that defender bonus.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.