LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Would this be legal to do?  (Read 10526 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 10, 2010, 01:20:37 PM
Read 10526 times

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Would this be legal to do?
« on: January 10, 2010, 01:20:37 PM »
You play with Frodo, Sam and Gandalf. Then if got the following trick
You let Frodo as Rb die and make Sam as response the new Rb.  In the next FS-phase I play Borne Far Away (10R14) and exchange a companion with Frodo in the deadpile, then play Frodo without a ring.
Would this be possible?

January 10, 2010, 01:23:39 PM
Reply #1

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 01:23:39 PM »
You could not play the Frodo you just killed. If you had Frenzied Fighter in hand, and removed the dead RB Frodo from the Dead Pile with another companion via Borne Far Away you could play Frodo, Frenzied Fighter.

But why you would do this is beyond me...
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 10, 2010, 01:31:18 PM
Reply #2

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 01:31:18 PM »
Jus
You could not play the Frodo you just killed. If you had Frenzied Fighter in hand, and removed the dead RB Frodo from the Dead Pile with another companion via Borne Far Away you could play Frodo, Frenzied Fighter.

But why you would do this is beyond me...
Just for fun and make A promise working again ;) And in case if you are playing with Sam, Nice Sensible Hobbit

But the reason why you can't play Frodo again? You change for example a Merry with Frodo. So Merry will be in the dead pile and Frodo will not. To my idea you should be able to play Frodo again. Unless the rb-keyword would be the reason. But if the keyword is also no problem then the question will be what happens to the ring?

January 10, 2010, 01:43:43 PM
Reply #3

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 01:43:43 PM »
From comprehensive rulebook 4.0 (p15 under ringbearer)

If a character other than Frodo is your ringbearer, you cannot play any other versions of Frodo with the Ring-bearer keyword during the game.

Shame it can't be done - you might of got a snigger from your opponent which is always fun  ;)

January 10, 2010, 01:51:06 PM
Reply #4

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 01:51:06 PM »
From comprehensive rulebook 4.0 (p15 under ringbearer)

If a character other than Frodo is your ringbearer, you cannot play any other versions of Frodo with the Ring-bearer keyword during the game.

Shame it can't be done - you might of got a snigger from your opponent which is always fun  ;)

There should be an errata on this part of the rulebook!

But in this case then it's just what the Jord said that it's only possible with frenzied fighter. So just only in standard or open. That's a pitty..

uhmm.... what does snigger means?

January 10, 2010, 01:54:49 PM
Reply #5

chompers

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 561
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2010, 01:54:49 PM »
(snigger = laugh) Make your opponent laugh at an unusual card combo - although your reasoning behind using this combo actually makes good sense.

January 10, 2010, 02:07:06 PM
Reply #6

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2010, 02:07:06 PM »
Play it with Held to make it even more unusual (after playing Frodo).

January 10, 2010, 02:47:21 PM
Reply #7

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2010, 02:47:21 PM »
Play it with Held to make it even more unusual (after playing Frodo).

;)


January 11, 2010, 05:28:53 AM
Reply #9

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2010, 05:28:53 AM »
From the immaginetive rulebook 4.0 (p15 under ringbearer)

If a character other than Frodo is your ringbearer, you cannot play any other versions of Frodo with the Ring-bearer keyword during the game; unless Frodo was the starting Ring Bearer and no copy of him is in the deadpile.

Would fix the problem for this in just filmblock.

January 11, 2010, 06:15:05 AM
Reply #10

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2010, 06:15:05 AM »
You could play some saved from the fire + Farmer Maggot's Fields to help draw the cards.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 08:00:05 AM by sharkey »

January 11, 2010, 06:19:43 AM
Reply #11

Smeagollum

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2010, 06:19:43 AM »
W
You could play some saved from the fires + Farmer Maggot's Fields to help draw the cards, the cards.

Why would I do that? It makes totally no sense. There are no Merry or Pipin in the deck. I rather use The generetic Green dragon in to get Bilbo out. I f you think I'll cycle to slow then you're partially right. But to solve this I will use a very fast shadow. Besides that I've got somewhere a singleplayer deck which is 48/48 and it's biggest problem is that it cycle's to fast.

January 11, 2010, 04:44:55 PM
Reply #12

hrcho

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 588
  • One does not simply Rock into Mordor.
    • My trade list
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2010, 04:44:55 PM »
1 or 2 Saved from the fire could really help, especially since you have 3 more Gandalfs and Sent Back already in your deck. Sacrifice your Leader of Men to draw 3 Gandalf cards (Sent Back and Defender of the West among them if needed) and just play your Defender of the West with the help of Sent Back. I use that combo (Sent Back and Saved from the fire) a lot and it's almost always a savior. The only drawback is that if you do all that in the same Fellowship phase, you'll have to place a lot of  [X]. It's up to you to evaluate the situation and use the cards in the best way possible. That's one of the strongest reasons why this game is so great: Luck has very little to do with the outcome.
Some days you're the statue, and some days you're the pigeon.

Trade List (TLHH)
Trade List (Mahasamatman)

January 11, 2010, 06:50:57 PM
Reply #13

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2010, 06:50:57 PM »
YES! I hate games like pokemon where it may as well be: Play all the pokemons you like. Flip a coin. If heads, you win the game, if tails, you lose.

January 11, 2010, 08:53:44 PM
Reply #14

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: Would this be legal to do?
« Reply #14 on: January 11, 2010, 08:53:44 PM »
YES! I hate games like pokemon where it may as well be: Play all the pokemons you like. Flip a coin. If heads, you win the game, if tails, you lose.
Yeah, that's how it works.  :roll: