LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...  (Read 21969 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 29, 2009, 04:56:32 AM
Reply #30

Pepin The Breve

  • Well-spoken Gentlehobbit
  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 503
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #30 on: January 29, 2009, 04:56:32 AM »
To expand things a bit, let's say Goblin Warrior was reworded to be a required action so that it's able to resolve first, discarding GKoMP. In this case GKoMP will still get to discard a card. This is because both cards triggered when the Orc hit the table; even though GKoMP has been discarded, its action in the "queue" must still be resolved (it doesn't "fizzle").
Actually, I might need to correct that. If an action is triggered, does it resolve if the card is discarded first?

Example: Corsair Marauder is played. FP player kills him with Shadowplay / Unheeded. Does the Shadow player get to discard a possession?

Similarly, if the costs are paid, are the effects performed if the card is discarded first?

Example: Ulaire Enquea, LoM exerts to wound a companion. FP player responds to the exertion with Unheeded, killing Enquea. Does a companion still take a wound?

    If i remember correctly if the source card leaves play it's response no longer triggers. I think the example was the Cave Troll with his chain. The last wound he takes in archery cannot be responded to wound a companion since the source card is no more in play.

    Still, i think that the rulebook is not conclusive about this (like with many other aspects).

January 29, 2009, 06:19:19 AM
Reply #31

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #31 on: January 29, 2009, 06:19:19 AM »
If you have met the costs then you will receive the effects. GatS exerts twice, gets Unheeded and dies but his ability has been paid for so you still exert a companion twice.

Again, I think it would be slightly OP if you paid the cost and met all requirements, then not only had your minion killed but lost its effect as well!

Example @ Buckland Homestead I play a Nazgul. You respond by Shadowplay/Unheeded killing my minion. But I have played a Nazgul, so I still get to discard a condition.

Effects are only prevented if you change the costs, and those costs cannot be met.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 29, 2009, 06:28:56 AM
Reply #32

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2009, 06:28:56 AM »
Right, that's how I've also seen costs/effects previously ruled. It seems that, based on this thread, the same extends to triggered actions (e.g. "Each time a minion is played...") as well.

Magic players should be able to fill me in better, but spells on the stack must be resolved even if the originating card is destroyed, right? I don't think LotR ever formalized this.

January 29, 2009, 06:30:25 AM
Reply #33

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #33 on: January 29, 2009, 06:30:25 AM »
Magic players should be able to fill me in better, but spells on the stack must be resolved even if the originating card is destroyed, right? I don't think LotR ever formalized this.
Yeah that's true. That's unfortunately not much help in working out what is done in Lord of the Rings. But I agree with you guys, I think once you've paid the cost you get the effect.

Thranduil

January 29, 2009, 07:34:18 AM
Reply #34

daisukeman

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 182
  • Evil Bilbo is always appropiate for this forum
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #34 on: January 29, 2009, 07:34:18 AM »
Yeah, I agree that you get the effect. This response actions trigger to do stuff things that can include interruptions in between the effect; but I think the shadow will get to do it.

Cave Troll's case may be different

    If i remember correctly if the source card leaves play it's response no longer triggers. I think the example was the Cave Troll with his chain. The last wound he takes in archery cannot be responded to wound a companion since the source card is no more in play.


because the shadow player didn't make/chose any action -nor paid any cost-.
Just got his minion wounded and can make a response if the timing allows it.
My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that i'm right...

January 29, 2009, 07:44:25 AM
Reply #35

leokula

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 870
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #35 on: January 29, 2009, 07:44:25 AM »
Right, that's how I've also seen costs/effects previously ruled. It seems that, based on this thread, the same extends to triggered actions (e.g. "Each time a minion is played...") as well.

Magic players should be able to fill me in better, but spells on the stack must be resolved even if the originating card is destroyed, right? I don't think LotR ever formalized this.

First of, there's no such thing as a stack in LOTR TCG. The concept of a stack (last in, first out) is totally different from how stuff happens in LOTR. Again, LOTR and Magic have almost nothing in common, besides being cardgames, so let's completely avoid comparisons between both, specially when discussing such specific issues.

I don't think this has to be formalized; if you pay the cost, you get the effect, unless a card prevents it. Unheeded doesn't prevent anything, it wounds a minion if it exerts. If that minion leaves play or not, it doesn't matter: a cost was paid and so an effect has to take place. It's easy as ABC. Nobody never said that if a "source" leaves play it's effect won't happen... I've never even seen this terminology in LOTR rulebooks before.

January 29, 2009, 07:55:33 AM
Reply #36

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #36 on: January 29, 2009, 07:55:33 AM »
The issue with Cave Troll's Chain is slightly different. Taking a wound is a required action, therefore the Cave Troll dies before any optional actions (like the Chain's "you may") can take place. Similarly, my reading would be if a card required you to discard Corsair Marauder when you played him, the Shadow player would not be able to discard a possession.

Thranduil

January 29, 2009, 12:29:32 PM
Reply #37

Elf_Lvr

  • ******
  • Information Offline
  • Lord
  • Posts: 3628
  • Rhythmic Ringwraith
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #37 on: January 29, 2009, 12:29:32 PM »
Well, in the Marauder case, he'd still be played.

And I think the Chain would work on the last wound, personally - because he's still taking a wound. Even for a fraction of a second, there's a Cave Troll sitting on the table with 4 wounds on 'im. Maybe he dies instantaneously, but I think the Chain responds to that wound regardless.
Happy Hunting!
Remember Cobracards.com.
Thou cannot unjack what doth hath been jacked. - Menace64
"To die's the day worth livin' for!"
Maybe you guys can find a bard and have your story of heroic Balrog proximity put into verse.

January 29, 2009, 12:31:19 PM
Reply #38

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERING...
« Reply #38 on: January 29, 2009, 12:31:19 PM »
Well, in the Marauder case, he'd still be played.

And I think the Chain would work on the last wound, personally - because he's still taking a wound. Even for a fraction of a second, there's a Cave Troll sitting on the table with 4 wounds on 'im. Maybe he dies instantaneously, but I think the Chain responds to that wound regardless.
But he doesn't. The specific rules clarification in this case says that he doesn't. And I've said why.

Thranduil