LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: condition discarding  (Read 16417 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

January 02, 2010, 01:29:46 PM
Read 16417 times

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
condition discarding
« on: January 02, 2010, 01:29:46 PM »
Let's say I play That's Two.  The text says the shadow player must discard a shadow card from play during the regroup phase.  If the shadow player chooses to discard a gollum condition and has deceit in play, can he protect his condition with deceit?  I think no, because deceit says you may only prevent the discarding if the freeps card specifically discards a condition.  That's 2 does not discard a condtion, but any shadow card.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

January 02, 2010, 05:06:06 PM
Reply #1

legolas3333

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2152
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2010, 05:06:06 PM »
i think you are correct
A Promo Saved is a Promo Earned

January 02, 2010, 05:15:40 PM
Reply #2

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2010, 05:15:40 PM »
The question is the source of the discard.

That's Two is the source of the discard, despite its text, which allows the Shadow player to decide what to discard.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 02, 2010, 07:22:57 PM
Reply #3

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2010, 07:22:57 PM »
That's Two isn't doing the discarding though.

January 03, 2010, 07:22:33 AM
Reply #4

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2010, 07:22:33 AM »
But it is. The Shadow player is only discarding because That's Two is making them. Therefore it is the source of the discard.

If it isnt the source, what is?
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 03, 2010, 01:46:53 PM
Reply #5

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2010, 01:46:53 PM »
I don't think it matters what the source is. Deceit specifically says "If a Free Peoples player's card is about to discard your other [GOLLUM] condition..." and That's Two isn't discarding the condition(S).

January 03, 2010, 04:24:49 PM
Reply #6

sharkey

  • Guest
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2010, 04:24:49 PM »
I think it look at it this way: That's Two is what is discarding the condition, even if the shadow player is choosing.

That's two is a terrible card. Maybe if it was manuever...

January 03, 2010, 05:22:52 PM
Reply #7

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2010, 05:22:52 PM »
I made good use of it in a multiplayer draft once.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 03, 2010, 06:58:51 PM
Reply #8

jdizzy001

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1038
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2010, 06:58:51 PM »
That's two is a great card in multi-player.  I wouldn't use it in any other game other than a multi-player game.  I think this same scenario came up pertaining to old noakes 3C111 the following was determined, Notes: If a Shadow card gives you the choice of discarding a card from hand or taking a different action, that card does not activate Old Noakes' game text. I say this same thing applies to the text of that's two.  Since the text of that's two gives you a choice of actions, deceit's text is not activated.
*All posts made by jdizzy001, regardless of the thread in which they appear, are expressions of his own opinion and as such are not representative of views shared by any third party unless expressly acknowledged as such by said party.

I play LOTR SBG look at my minis!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.124731667611081.33577.100002227457509&l=aeb5fa3bdd

January 03, 2010, 07:05:40 PM
Reply #9

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2010, 07:05:40 PM »
I dont see how these two exampls relate. Old Noakes doesnt respond to a situation where you choose to discard instead of something else, such as DDotR, as his text says "Each time a Shadow card makes you discard..."

Deceit simply states, if a FP card is about to discard a condition, do X... That's Two is responsible for the discard, however you word it.
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 03, 2010, 08:19:30 PM
Reply #10

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2010, 08:19:30 PM »
"...to have each Shadow player discard one of his or her Shadow cards from play."

January 04, 2010, 04:11:38 AM
Reply #11

TheJord

  • League Director
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2294
  • High King of Rules
    • GamesCobra
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2010, 04:11:38 AM »
Exactly, why is the Shadow player discarding? Because That's Two is making them!
"The rule of Gondor is mine!"

January 04, 2010, 04:26:24 AM
Reply #12

MR. Lurtzy

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • King
  • Posts: 2745
  • Wouldn't it be nice if we were Hodor?
    • My website
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2010, 04:26:24 AM »
Exactly, why is the Shadow player discarding? Because That's Two is making them!
Yeah. And that prevents Deceit from using its ability.

January 04, 2010, 04:29:54 AM
Reply #13

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2010, 04:29:54 AM »
The question is the source of the discard.

That's Two is the source of the discard, despite its text, which allows the Shadow player to decide what to discard.
I am almost certain this is correct. Deceit will work in this case. There is a classic example of this, but for the life of me I can't remember what it is!

Thranduil

January 04, 2010, 10:33:13 AM
Reply #14

Elessar's Socks

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1353
  • "I see...I look foul and feel foul. Is that it?"
Re: condition discarding
« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2010, 10:33:13 AM »
To use a different example, I've thought Melilot Brandybuck could exert to prevent the burden from Desperate Defense of the Ring.

The CR entry for Frodo CH also says "This card only prevents Shadow cards that make you discard from hand or draw deck." The Free Peoples player is doing the (forced) discarding, a Shadow card is the source of this, and Frodo CH ("Shadow cards may not discard...") works. Flip it around, and we get the That's Two! / Deceit situation here.