LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: A Couple Of Questions  (Read 13774 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

July 22, 2008, 06:09:00 AM
Read 13774 times

Shieldmaiden

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 474
A Couple Of Questions
« on: July 22, 2008, 06:09:00 AM »
Okay, this has probably already been addressed, and I think I know the answers already.  But I just want to be sure, so here we go.

Frodo's Cloak says:
Skirmish: At sites 1 (The Two Towers) to 4 (The Two Towers), add a burden and discard this possession to
cancel a skirmish involving Frodo.
At any other site, discard this possession to remove a burden and heal Frodo.


If I'm playing in expanded format, I know that I cannot use the first part of the ability because I'm not using TTT sites (only Shadows and beyond).   Am I still able to discard this possession to remove a burden and heal Frodo? 

Also, and sort of related to this, Grimbold, Marshal Of Rohan reads:
Skirmish: Replace the fellowship's site with your plains site of the same number to discard a card from hand.

This was intended for use in TTT format, but am I still able to use it with sites from Shadows and beyond (as long as it's a plains site, of course)?  Or is there a rule that prevents this? 

Any help is appreciated.   :)

July 22, 2008, 06:39:07 AM
Reply #1

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 06:39:07 AM »
You can still use the other ability yes at it says at any other site and doesnt specify block or number or anything.

And no you cant use grimbold outside of tower block in shadows site path, because there are no sites with an equivalent number to swap for. It relates to a site having a specific site number designated on the cards for example site TT3 rather than the site just being placed 3rd in the site path in shadow block onwards sites.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

July 22, 2008, 06:45:11 AM
Reply #2

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 06:45:11 AM »
In, say, Movie Block, can Grimbold be used to replace numbered sites outside of Tower block? Like, say, King block sites?
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

July 22, 2008, 06:47:51 AM
Reply #3

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 06:47:51 AM »
I suppose as long as the site is numbered fotr towers or king then you can swap it for a same number from the same block. Which is why it doesnt work in shadows onwards.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

July 22, 2008, 07:20:25 AM
Reply #4

Malachi

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 229
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2008, 07:20:25 AM »
Actually Grimbold doesn't work in Towers block at all. His ability is King block only, which is a shame.

July 22, 2008, 07:24:25 AM
Reply #5

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2008, 07:24:25 AM »
Are you sure? How have you checked this? As far as i can tell it doesnt mention king sites it just says a site of the same number and a fotr block 5 is the same as another fotr block 5, the same way a king block 6 is same another king block 6 for his game text purposes.

Dont get me wrong im not saying youre not right, as im only arguing logic, i would just like to know the reasons.
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

July 22, 2008, 08:09:20 AM
Reply #6

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2008, 08:09:20 AM »
It's true, you can of course use the other ability on Frodo's Cloak just like you can on Hobbit Stealth, Hobbit Intuition, Swiftly and Softly, Depart Silently etc. because it is any other site which is not any of the sites given.

But Grimbold can be used to replace Towers, Fellowship and King block sites because they each have a number and he replaces a site with one of the same number. Just like Ulaire Nelya, Lieutenant of Morgul you can use on any aforementioned site paths.

Thranduil
« Last Edit: July 22, 2008, 08:14:09 AM by Thranduil »

July 22, 2008, 08:11:23 AM
Reply #7

lem0nhead

  • Vegetarian Cannibal
  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4205
  • Juicy Fruit
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2008, 08:11:23 AM »
Thank you Thran! Not very often we agree but im glad to have your support in this instance!
Ban shampoo, demand real poo.
That's like having "Some Who Ride Ponies" as a Rohan follower. ~ Dain Ironfoot.

July 22, 2008, 08:48:52 AM
Reply #8

Ulmo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 141
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2008, 08:48:52 AM »
I agree with Lem0nhead. I remember someone else answering this type of question. Grimbold doesn't mention a block, so the replacement is for any plains site of the same number. His ability is for Movie block, not just King block.

EDIT: OK, so Thran already answered this   :up:
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world.  Those who know binary and those who don't.
You don't have a backpack. What you have there is an invisible leather TARDIS.

July 22, 2008, 09:23:43 AM
Reply #9

Shieldmaiden

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 474
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2008, 09:23:43 AM »
That's great, guys!  Thanks for all of your help!   :up:  I will give  :gp: to each of you when I can.  It might take a while, but you will receive them, lol. 

Edited to say: It didn't take as long to give the  :gp:'s as I thought it would (no 15 minutes waits anymore)!  You have all received one now, thanks again!
« Last Edit: July 22, 2008, 09:25:51 AM by Shieldmaiden »

July 22, 2008, 09:55:28 AM
Reply #10

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2008, 09:55:28 AM »
Quote from: Shieldmaiden
Edited to say: It didn't take as long to give the  :gp:'s as I thought it would (no 15 minutes waits anymore)!  You have all received one now, thanks again!

It still takes 15 minutes to award gold to the same person twice, but you can award one to somebody and then one to somebody else as fast as your mouse allows. Heck, you could theoretically go through the entire member list and award each person one gold back-to-back-to-back-to...eh, you get the idea. :roll:
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

July 22, 2008, 10:01:15 AM
Reply #11

Malachi

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 229
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2008, 10:01:15 AM »
If you just click "Grimbold" to see his Database entry, you'll find a note telling you that he only works in King block. And that note comes from Comprehensive Rules 4.0

July 22, 2008, 10:05:00 AM
Reply #12

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2008, 10:05:00 AM »
Then that's one ruling I'd disagree with. I think in Movie Block or some other format where you were able to use him with numbered sites outside his normal block, his text would work just fine.
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".

July 22, 2008, 10:24:53 AM
Reply #13

Thranduil

  • *******
  • Information Offline
  • Wizard
  • Posts: 4996
    • Zalman's Dungeon (blog of SF stories by Thranduil)
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2008, 10:24:53 AM »
Ah, I didn't see that note. Well, it's counter-intuitive, but it looks like he can only replace King sites! :-[

That means his text only works in King block and Movie block where King sites are used. Similarly, Ulaire Nelya, Lieutenant of Morgul also would therefore only work with his companion fellowship sites.

Have a :gp: Malachi!

Thranduil

July 22, 2008, 10:34:43 AM
Reply #14

DáinIronfoot

  • Bearded Axeman
  • ********
  • Information Offline
  • Maia
  • Posts: 6162
  • Never tickle a Dwarf!
Re: A Couple Of Questions
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2008, 10:34:43 AM »
Quote from: Thranduil
Similarly, Ulaire Nelya, Lieutenant of Morgul also would therefore only work with his companion fellowship sites.

Not necessarily. Does Nelya have that same ruling somewhere? If not, I would be inclined to say it doesn't apply to him.
Best regards,
Dáin


Check out Lasting Alliances and The Road Ahead, my two completed DC sets, and also The Way Into Mordor (in progress), all part of my 5-set Wars of the Ring DC "block".