LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Each time....  (Read 3135 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

September 02, 2011, 10:55:41 PM
Read 3135 times

drj0000

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 46
Each time....
« on: September 02, 2011, 10:55:41 PM »
so Bold men and grim can you use that ability only when they are going to die from natural fighting
or could you say use a whirling strike and then use that ability.  each time a companion is aboutl to be killed, you can't state that from the card and then play an event to cause it right?

September 03, 2011, 12:33:38 AM
Reply #1

Air Power

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Ranger
  • Posts: 771
Re: Each time....
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2011, 12:33:38 AM »
The card doesn't make reference to a skirmish or even the skirmish phase, so I think you can use it once each time a companion is about to be killed.  This includes dying from wounds assigned in the maneuver phase, the archery phase, and, yes, the skirmish phase, regardless of whether those wounds came from events, archery, conditions, or being defeated in a skirmish.
"If the world becomes pagan and perishes, the last man left alive would do well to quote the Iliad and die." -G.K. Chesterton, The Everlasting Man

September 03, 2011, 06:45:14 AM
Reply #2

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Each time....
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2011, 06:45:14 AM »
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.

September 03, 2011, 07:35:22 AM
Reply #3

drj0000

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 46
Re: Each time....
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2011, 07:35:22 AM »
very nice

September 03, 2011, 08:30:23 AM
Reply #4

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Each time....
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2011, 08:30:23 AM »
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.
I don't think discarding a companion will trigger this card, as it clearly says "Killed", which translates to be put into Dead pile. So in case of some FP player trick to put character into discard instead of getting killed, FP player has first option to play an action for "Is about to be killed" and if they use their replacement, the effect of being killed is cancelled and you can't play your optional (with "may") card that has "Is about to be killed", as the card is no longer being killed.

From comprehensive rules:
"Some responses are performed when a described situation is "about to" happen. Typically, only one such response can be performed in a given situation, because its effect will "prevent" that situation or replace it with another effect "instead.""
« Last Edit: September 03, 2011, 08:34:18 AM by MarcinS »
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

September 03, 2011, 03:48:06 PM
Reply #5

Yrael

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 124
Re: Each time....
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2011, 03:48:06 PM »
Any time, no matter what. If a character is about to die (even if they do something to place him in the discard pile instead, like smeagol does sometimes) you get to activate that text.
I don't think discarding a companion will trigger this card, as it clearly says "Killed", which translates to be put into Dead pile. So in case of some FP player trick to put character into discard instead of getting killed, FP player has first option to play an action for "Is about to be killed" and if they use their replacement, the effect of being killed is cancelled and you can't play your optional (with "may") card that has "Is about to be killed", as the card is no longer being killed.

From comprehensive rules:
"Some responses are performed when a described situation is "about to" happen. Typically, only one such response can be performed in a given situation, because its effect will "prevent" that situation or replace it with another effect "instead.""

Thanks for the correction