LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here  (Read 381189 times)

0 Members and 6 Guests are viewing this topic.

January 22, 2012, 06:58:41 PM
Reply #360

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #360 on: January 22, 2012, 06:58:41 PM »
I believe this falls under effects from the Comprehensive Rule book:
Quote
If the effect of a card or special ability requires you to perform an action and you cannot, you must perform as much as you can and ignore the rest.

Fixed: - If an effect makes you exert a character X times, and you can't find a character able to be exerted X times, you can choose matching character, which can exert X-1 times, and so on.
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

January 22, 2012, 07:03:10 PM
Reply #361

shewski

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 4
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #361 on: January 22, 2012, 07:03:10 PM »
http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=shewski$q1x7rhxupgr45gzi

Two issues I noticed here

1)  The cave troll chain (when opponent is @ site 5) doesn't add 1 Twilight w/ Goblin Armory when I play it.
2)  when in a skirmish with an ally (I can't remember exactly when, site 6, 7, or 8) Goblin Armory doesn't give me a "when wounded" response.
As it was said - Troll's Chain is not a weapon. As for the Goblin Armory. It works, you must give me more specifics - what site was it, and what minion was getting wounded. Basically, what I need to check is, that:
- the minion that was taking damage is indeed "[Moria] Orc",
- the minion was taking damage, rather than being overwhelmed.

I'm not saying there is no error in the card, and a minion that is supposed to be an Orc doesn't have a different race by mistake, but most likely one of those requirements above was not fulfilled.

Lol, right you guys are.  Whoops!  I never thought that it wouldn't be a weapon.

I think, after watching it, the reason it didn't pop up was that the Moria Orcs were being overwhelmed, which makes total sense.  It was a fight with a Horn'd Elrond @ 11 vs a Goblin Runner @ 5.  So consider this resolved and me dumb on both accounts.  Sorry!


January 23, 2012, 08:20:02 AM
Reply #362

jcb213

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 202
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #362 on: January 23, 2012, 08:20:02 AM »
There is a glitch with Black Shapes Crawling.

Quote
Maneuver: Spot X Uruk-hai. The Free Peoples player may assign X wounds to your minions. Play X [Isengard] weapons from your discard pile.

My opponent had two Uruk-hai on table, one of which had a Broad-bladed Sword (making it unable to take wounds).  He played Black Shapes Crawling, but I was only able to assign 1 wound instead of 2.  I believe the code is treating it as "wound X minions" instead of "assign X wounds to minions" which would create the problem.  I should have been able to assign 2 wounds to the same minion since I could spot 2 Uruk-hai.

January 23, 2012, 08:41:05 AM
Reply #363

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #363 on: January 23, 2012, 08:41:05 AM »
There is a glitch with Black Shapes Crawling.

Quote
Maneuver: Spot X Uruk-hai. The Free Peoples player may assign X wounds to your minions. Play X [Isengard] weapons from your discard pile.

My opponent had two Uruk-hai on table, one of which had a Broad-bladed Sword (making it unable to take wounds).  He played Black Shapes Crawling, but I was only able to assign 1 wound instead of 2.  I believe the code is treating it as "wound X minions" instead of "assign X wounds to minions" which would create the problem.  I should have been able to assign 2 wounds to the same minion since I could spot 2 Uruk-hai.

I believe the card is working correctly. What probably happened (which would explain the situation you were seeing), is that your opponent chose to spot only 1 Uruk-hai ("Spot X" means you can choose how many you spot). This makes sense, since one of his minions already had a weapon, so there was no reason to spot 2, if he had 2 minions.
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

January 23, 2012, 08:50:08 AM
Reply #364

jcb213

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Villager
  • Posts: 202
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #364 on: January 23, 2012, 08:50:08 AM »
There is a glitch with Black Shapes Crawling.

Quote
Maneuver: Spot X Uruk-hai. The Free Peoples player may assign X wounds to your minions. Play X [Isengard] weapons from your discard pile.

My opponent had two Uruk-hai on table, one of which had a Broad-bladed Sword (making it unable to take wounds).  He played Black Shapes Crawling, but I was only able to assign 1 wound instead of 2.  I believe the code is treating it as "wound X minions" instead of "assign X wounds to minions" which would create the problem.  I should have been able to assign 2 wounds to the same minion since I could spot 2 Uruk-hai.

I believe the card is working correctly. What probably happened (which would explain the situation you were seeing), is that your opponent chose to spot only 1 Uruk-hai ("Spot X" means you can choose how many you spot). This makes sense, since one of his minions already had a weapon, so there was no reason to spot 2, if he had 2 minions.

Makes sense, thanks.

January 24, 2012, 07:33:33 AM
Reply #365

ellesar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 50
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #365 on: January 24, 2012, 07:33:33 AM »
if you have a fierce minion on table and you have southron commander on table you can use his assignment ability  during the fierce asignment fase (even if southron commander isn't fierce).
he isn't assigned if the assignment isn't prevented, but you have to discard a companion if you want to prevent this.
(in fact no reason to prevent it, but this assignment action shouldn't be able to activate)
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 07:37:32 AM by ellesar »

January 24, 2012, 07:49:13 AM
Reply #366

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #366 on: January 24, 2012, 07:49:13 AM »
Actually, nothing prevents the Shadow player from activating the Commander's ability if they want to, even if he's not fierce. The FP can keep declining to discard a companion, but since the Commander isn't fierce, he won't get assigned to Frodo.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

January 24, 2012, 08:05:37 AM
Reply #367

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #367 on: January 24, 2012, 08:05:37 AM »
No matter if fierce assignment or non-fierce, unless a card says otherwise, you should be able to play an assignment effect if you can pay the costs and meet the requirement (for example spot). That's how the rules work, so nothing will be changed in that regard. If you feel your opponent was trying to abuse the system and cause you to lose due to timeout, or loss of will to live, please post a game replay link and it will be investigated, and the abusing player will be kicked from the service.

If you still think rules do not allow that, please specify the reasons (quotes from rule book). For me, the only thing that can be questioned at this time is, if a player should be able to prevent an effect (per card text), if the effect is not playable. So in this particular case, should the FP player be allowed (and asked) to discard an unbound companion, if the Southron Commander could not be assigned to the Ring-bearer (for example because it is not fierce). So far, it's not checking that, because I could not find anything in the rules that would answer the question.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 08:13:50 AM by MarcinS »
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

January 24, 2012, 09:32:20 AM
Reply #368

ellesar

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 50
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #368 on: January 24, 2012, 09:32:20 AM »
In the comprehensive rulebook 4.0 (http://www.scribd.com/doc/17676177/Lord-of-the-Rings-Card-Game-Comprehensive-Rules) on page 8. under assignment. One of the last notes:

"A card which cannot participate in skirmishes:
• cannot be assigned to a skirmish,
• cannot be affected by assignment actions(except an assignment action that would allow such a card to skirmish), and
• cannot be assigned leftover minions by aShadow player."

If southron commander isn't fierce, it means he can't participate in a fierce skirmish and so it cannot be affected by assignment actions. (during fierce assignment fase)
So normally you can't use this ability in the fierce assignmant fase.

January 24, 2012, 09:44:29 AM
Reply #369

hsiale

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 506
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #369 on: January 24, 2012, 09:44:29 AM »
It cannot be assigned. But assigning is an effect. Cost is spotting 6 companions. You spot, you can use the action. Then your opponent has a choice of nothing happening (as Commander is not fierce and can't be assigned to a skirmish) or discarding a companion to "prevent that nothing" (if for some reason he wants to).

This is how rules work. This is not a problem during IRL playing as such actions are ignored, but during online play everything must work automatically. The perfect solution would be to have the system detect automatically if an action has no costs (except possibly spotting something) and no effects of it can be performed, such action could then be deactivated with no harm to gameplay, but from what I've heard it's hard to code something like this, so I guess we have to live with the system working exactly the way rulebook says - that's way better than if it worked against some rule :)

January 24, 2012, 09:48:38 AM
Reply #370

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #370 on: January 24, 2012, 09:48:38 AM »
In the comprehensive rulebook 4.0 (http://www.scribd.com/doc/17676177/Lord-of-the-Rings-Card-Game-Comprehensive-Rules) on page 8. under assignment. One of the last notes:

"A card which cannot participate in skirmishes:
• cannot be assigned to a skirmish,
• cannot be affected by assignment actions(except an assignment action that would allow such a card to skirmish), and
• cannot be assigned leftover minions by aShadow player."

If southron commander isn't fierce, it means he can't participate in a fierce skirmish and so it cannot be affected by assignment actions. (during fierce assignment fase)
So normally you can't use this ability in the fierce assignmant fase.

Ok, you're confusing two VERY distinct things:
1. Being able to play (activate) an action.
2. Being able to play-out an effect of an action.

The rule you quoted, refers to being able (or not being able) to play-out an effect of an action (so the number 2 above). There is a separate rule for determining if an action is playable (number 1), which is:
"If you meet all the requirements and pay all the costs for playing a card, you may play that card even if the card will have no effect."

So in this particular case of the Southron Commander, since you can meet all the requirements (can Spot 6 companions) and pay all the costs (no costs here), you may play (activate) that card, even if the card will have no effect (since it will not assign the minion to Ring-bearer), but you have to do as much of the effect as possible. There is only ONE exception to the rule, which is mentioned in the rulebook immediately after this sentence, which is:
"Exception: If you perform an action that has playing a card from hand or discard pile as part of its effect, you must play that card. This exception applies to all kinds of actions and all the different ways you can play a card (except playing a card directly from your draw deck)."

This rule makes no sense at all (from the English language point of view), hence it's agreed in the community, that the first sentence of the exception should actually read:
"Exception: If you perform an action that has playing a card from hand or discard pile as part of its effect, you must be able to play that card."
« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 10:00:51 AM by MarcinS »
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

January 24, 2012, 12:16:40 PM
Reply #371

OneFathom

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 407
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #371 on: January 24, 2012, 12:16:40 PM »
You don't have to spot a Rohan man to play Horse of Rohan.  This should be fixed. 

Also, I created a post a couple days ago about the card Make Haste.  I was able to return Sam, Son of Hamfast to my hand while he was the ring-bearer.  The ring was discarded and I still "won" the game.

I know the ring-bearer can't be discarded, but does it say anywhere in the rules that he/she can't be returned to hand?

January 24, 2012, 12:42:02 PM
Reply #372

hsiale

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 506
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #372 on: January 24, 2012, 12:42:02 PM »
I'm not sure, but if it doesn't, it's just because noone got this idea back in the days when Decipher still maintained the rules so I think we can make a clarification that he/she can't :) (by the way, is there a card that could return Galadriel, BoW to hand? ;) )

January 24, 2012, 12:55:42 PM
Reply #373

MarcinS

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1060
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #373 on: January 24, 2012, 12:55:42 PM »
You don't have to spot a Rohan man to play Horse of Rohan.  This should be fixed. 

Also, I created a post a couple days ago about the card Make Haste.  I was able to return Sam, Son of Hamfast to my hand while he was the ring-bearer.  The ring was discarded and I still "won" the game.

I know the ring-bearer can't be discarded, but does it say anywhere in the rules that he/she can't be returned to hand?

Fixed and fixed. I found this: "The Ring-bearer cannot be discarded or returned to your hand, and skirmishes involving the Ring-bearer cannot be cancelled.", of course the not cancelling of RB skirmish does not apply to pre-Reflections set.
New/old way to play Lord of the Rings online.
Give Gemp-LotR a try.
All sets are finished

January 24, 2012, 01:50:45 PM
Reply #374

hsiale

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 506
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #374 on: January 24, 2012, 01:50:45 PM »
Banished triggers during skirmishes that shadow side wins due to all FP characters being removed from a skirmish (in the example I had it was Merry, Learned Guide discarded). It should not trigger in such case, as there are no FP characters in the skirmish the moment it resolves, so there is no losing FP character at all.