LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Possessions/artifacts question  (Read 2480 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

February 06, 2013, 08:24:01 AM
Read 2480 times

whitewarrior11

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 2
Possessions/artifacts question
« on: February 06, 2013, 08:24:01 AM »
Hello guys,

Last day, in a multiplayer game, we had a situation:

- Frodo had a Hobbit Sword equipped. In Fellowship, thje Freeps player discarded a Hobbit Sword from hand, saying he would put it on Frodo but since you can only have one possession of each class on a given character, one would get discarded right away so he just does this and add 1 twilight in the pool. I told him he can't do that. One other player argued you can do it to replace a version of a unique weapon by another (e.g., Sting with Sting, Bane of the Eight-Legs). This player claimed he did it the other day on Gemp. Who is right?

The starter rulebook from The Hunters mentions this: "You cannot play a card from hand to replace another card in play, even if those cards have the same card title or represent the same personality."

I thought that, the moment you have a possession of a given class on a character, you cannot actually replace it or discard it unless you use a card that specifically does so. Am I right?

February 06, 2013, 08:57:31 AM
Reply #1

Ringbearer

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Posts: 709
Re: Possessions/artifacts question
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 08:57:31 AM »
You are right, there should be no way into replacing a possession or character.

February 06, 2013, 04:21:24 PM
Reply #2

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Possessions/artifacts question
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2013, 04:21:24 PM »
The only way you can do that is if you transfer the Hobbit Sword to another hobbit so you can put Sting on Frodo.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

February 07, 2013, 09:38:46 AM
Reply #3

whitewarrior11

  • Information Offline
  • Neekerbreeker
  • Posts: 2
Re: Possessions/artifacts question
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2013, 09:38:46 AM »
So basically, what are the ways the Freeps player have to replace a possession on a character?

- Transferring
- Having a possession discarded by a Shadow card
- Anduril, Flame of the West, Shadowfax

Otherwise, I am stuck with the possession in my hand, right?

February 07, 2013, 11:12:49 AM
Reply #4

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Possessions/artifacts question
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2013, 11:12:49 AM »
You are never "stuck" with a card in your hand. When you reconcile, just discard it.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.