LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal (edit: solved)  (Read 2736 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

May 14, 2013, 02:02:14 PM
Read 2736 times

TheNinthPlayer

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 58
Hey all!
In a recent game, my opponent played Riding Like the Wind, on site 6.
He had quite a few mounts out, so he planned to triple into 9, and take the game.
However, thanks to a well-placed Buckland Homestead at site 7, I figured I could stop him from tripling. (By discarding Riding Like the Wind)
BUT THIS WAS NOT TO BE!!! :o
Apparently, once the condition is played, its effect lasts until the end of the turn... even if the condition itself is discarded.
He easily waltzed into site 9.
Curiously, the -1 strength penalty to unmounted companions did not last.
Is this a rule that I have forgotten about, or a gemp problem? :-k
http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=player9$fm0l2m7s8uyc74ak
(Notes:  Despite this being a league game, I'm not arguing the results.  Even if it was a mistake, he made good use of it, and I doubt I would have won at that point anyway.  Neither of us knew why this happened, though he thought it might have something to do with the word "spot" on the condition.)
Thanks
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 05:59:25 PM by TheNinthPlayer »
\"What about a catapult?\" -Boromir

May 14, 2013, 03:48:00 PM
Reply #1

dethwish07

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 93
  • Not all who wander are lost
    • My Blog: The Archives of Minas Tirith
Re: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 03:48:00 PM »
From page 14 on the comprehensive rules:

Quote from:  LotR Comprehensive Rules 4.0
If the move limit is modified for a turn, then that
modification is in effect for the whole turn, even
if the conditions for the modification change.

Hope that clears things up for you :) Sorry about Buckland Homestead not doing it for ya.

Edit: Just to give another example of a situation in which this rule is relevant:

You play Radagast, The Brown. Your move limit is +1. You make your first move and in the skirmish phase of that initial move, Radagast is somehow killed. Even though Radagast goes to the dead pile (just as your opponent's Riding Like the Wind went to the discard), the move limit increase remains in effect for the remainder of your turn. This means, of course, that you may move two more times in the turn I describe above.
« Last Edit: May 14, 2013, 03:56:25 PM by dethwish07 »

May 14, 2013, 05:58:53 PM
Reply #2

TheNinthPlayer

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 58
Re: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2013, 05:58:53 PM »
Thanks, got it.
I didn't see that first time I checked the rules, go figure.
\"What about a catapult?\" -Boromir

May 15, 2013, 07:00:33 AM
Reply #3

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal (edit: solved)
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2013, 07:00:33 AM »
Question: What if you somehow weren't able to spot 2 mounts anymore? The effect says move limit +1 while you can spot two mounts. Does it still last the whole turn even if you lose your mounts?
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

May 15, 2013, 07:36:15 AM
Reply #4

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal (edit: solved)
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2013, 07:36:15 AM »
Yes it does. The move limit will remain in effect even if its conditions have changed. The word 'condition' is used in its normal English sense, not referring to the card type.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

May 15, 2013, 12:09:20 PM
Reply #5

TheNinthPlayer

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 58
Re: Riding like the wind/general condition confusal (edit: solved)
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2013, 12:09:20 PM »
Seems a tad strange.
Most rules hold true to their logical text, this one seems to be an exception.
I'll have to remember it, thanks all!
\"What about a catapult?\" -Boromir