LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: If a card adds a burden, does that mean the ring bearer is wearing the one ring?  (Read 2803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

August 09, 2014, 07:09:43 PM
Read 2803 times

bozoderek

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 14
So, I have one card that says add a burden, and another that says... if you can spot the ringbearer wearing the one ring and a twilight nazgul, add 3 burdens. So, Can I play the first card and then the second? Or is frodo actually not wearing the ring even though he took a burden?

August 09, 2014, 07:25:33 PM
Reply #1

malo

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Tracker
  • Posts: 116
hi, when a card add a burden, the ring bearer don't wear the ring.

you can play resistance becomes unbearable. if the ring bearer is exaust, the card say: wear the one ring, and then you can play the twilling world.

i tested this deck, it was pretty fun, i play gollum dark as darkness, with 4 copies of captured by the ring

August 09, 2014, 07:43:55 PM
Reply #2

bozoderek

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 14
huh. So do you just discard smeagol with a card before he dies and bring him back with the other?

August 09, 2014, 09:53:59 PM
Reply #3

Prince_of_Ithilien

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 26
  • for the King
Bozoderek, you are correct in saying that he is not wearing the ring.  There are several cards that add burdens without making the ring-bearer wear the ring.  One that comes to mind as an example is It Wants to be Found.  However, unless a card specifically states that he puts on the ring (as with malo's example with Resistance Becomes Unbearable), then the card simply adds a burden (play it just as it reads).
The 3 burden Wraith World card you mention is a nice one - there is more than one way of making it work.  For example, the twilight Witch-King and Enquea wound Frodo if they win, at which point the opponent may put on the ring to take those wounds as burdens if he/she chooses.  That would be an opportunity to play Wraith World/Twilight World.
I do not love the bright sword for its sharpness, nor the arrow for its swiftness, nor the warrior for his glory. I love only that which they defend...-Faramir

August 10, 2014, 06:43:00 AM
Reply #4

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Remember the golden rule of TCGs: All cards do what they say.

When a card says to add a burden, that's exactly what you do. It doesn't say to put on the Ring, so you don't.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.