LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here  (Read 379105 times)

0 Members and 17 Guests are viewing this topic.

August 22, 2013, 10:59:03 AM
Reply #1950

Legion

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 343
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1950 on: August 22, 2013, 10:59:03 AM »
See the change log.  Follow Smeagol no longer replaces your own site.  Nor does Pathfinder.

August 22, 2013, 11:05:53 AM
Reply #1951

Eukalyptus

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 429
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1951 on: August 22, 2013, 11:05:53 AM »
Anything freeps related that plays the next site ("replacing opponents site if necessary") is now working correctly.

August 22, 2013, 02:23:52 PM
Reply #1952

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1952 on: August 22, 2013, 02:23:52 PM »
See the change log.  Follow Smeagol no longer replaces your own site.  Nor does Pathfinder.

Anything freeps related that plays the next site ("replacing opponents site if necessary") is now working correctly.

From Comprehensive Rules 4.0:

Quote
Some cards allow a player to play the next site on the adventure path at times when the fellowship is not moving. These may be used even when the next site is already there. In such cases, the new site replaces the old one; put the old site back in its owner's adventure deck. The new site takes the same site number the old site had, so that there is always only one site 1 in play, one site 2, and so on. When a site is replaced, all cards played on or stacked on the old site are moved to the new site.

Follow Smeagol and Pathfinder do not say that they only work on an opponent's sites.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

August 22, 2013, 02:53:32 PM
Reply #1953

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1953 on: August 22, 2013, 02:53:32 PM »
Yes, once the Shadows sites came out, the phrase "replacing an opponent's site if necessary" became redundant. Pathfinder and Follow Smeagol should still be able to replace your own sites.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

August 23, 2013, 10:25:45 AM
Reply #1954

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1954 on: August 23, 2013, 10:25:45 AM »
Email sent to MarcinS, for what it's worth. A few more emails backing up this interpretation may be more helpful.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

August 23, 2013, 12:53:02 PM
Reply #1955

daisukeman

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 182
  • Evil Bilbo is always appropiate for this forum
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1955 on: August 23, 2013, 12:53:02 PM »
Hi All,

I'll raise:
Melilot Brandybuck, Merry Dancer + Gollum, Mad Thing
But not sure if strictly it's a bug...

At http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=daisukeman$rcstovosccecg1lz, first player to reach to site 8, you can see how Gollum is assigned by the free peoples without being given a +3 or adding a burden.. thanks to Melilot Brandybuck.

I'm no expert on these type of rulings but I sense this should be the same as Boromir, Bearer of Council + Armor (or even better, the one scenario having Morgul Destroyer / Morgul Brute + whatever prevents a wound).
In both these cases, when the wound is prevented, then the other condition kicks in.

Is this different or should be the same (a bug)?



« Last Edit: August 23, 2013, 02:52:50 PM by daisukeman »
My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that i'm right...

August 24, 2013, 04:20:15 PM
Reply #1956

Valtor

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Orc
  • Posts: 34
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1956 on: August 24, 2013, 04:20:15 PM »
Yes, once the Shadows sites came out, the phrase "replacing an opponent's site if necessary" became redundant. Pathfinder and Follow Smeagol should still be able to replace your own sites.

Is that right? I thought Pathfinder and Follow Smeagol could not replace your own sites.

Thus, Follow Smeagol says "Regroup: Exert Sméagol .. to play the fellowship's next site ... "

If the fellowship's next site is already in play (eg because that fellowship has already played it using eg Pathfinder, or because that fellowship is behind on the site path and already played its next site during the opponent's previous fellowship phase), then the action will have no effect. Because the fellowship in question has already played its next site.

It is perfectly possible to pay a cost for an action that is ineffective because the situation called for by that action already exists.

So, if (as in sgtdraino's game) at regroup phase Fellowship A is at site 4, and already played its choice for site 5 during a previous fellowship phase of the opposing player, Fellowship A's "next site" is already in "play", and using and Follow Smeagol or Pathfinder "to play the fellowship's next site" will have no effect because Fellowship A has already played its next site.

August 24, 2013, 04:59:45 PM
Reply #1957

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1957 on: August 24, 2013, 04:59:45 PM »
The fellowship's next site is the one beyond where the fellowship currently is. Playing the next site should replace any site that is already there. It wasn't possible to replace your own sites pre-Shadows, but now it is possible. That's why the parenthetical text on Pathfinder is unnecessary.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

August 25, 2013, 04:48:01 AM
Reply #1958

Pepi

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 87
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1958 on: August 25, 2013, 04:48:01 AM »
Hm ... if a player exerts Gimli with Baruk Khazad, can't I use Lost to the Goblins in response? Is that a bug or am I missing something?

August 25, 2013, 06:42:33 AM
Reply #1959

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1959 on: August 25, 2013, 06:42:33 AM »
If Gimli is the Ring-bearer, then yes, LttG should trigger from Baruk Khazad. If it didn't, then you've found a bug!
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

August 25, 2013, 09:18:12 AM
Reply #1960

Pepi

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Scout
  • Posts: 87
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1960 on: August 25, 2013, 09:18:12 AM »
Ah, no, wait. It's my bad. Checked the screenshot I made again, and noticed, that I didn't have the option of response, because of the fact there was no twilight left and my opponent was playing Legolas, DH. Sry.

August 27, 2013, 06:29:13 AM
Reply #1961

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1961 on: August 27, 2013, 06:29:13 AM »
http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=bibfortuna$rsz7d8dd7j2rmxov

In this game, I played Terrible and Evil and chose 0 for the value of X. The CRD says that if you play a card that exerts a character X times, X cannot be 0.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

August 28, 2013, 07:55:56 AM
Reply #1962

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1962 on: August 28, 2013, 07:55:56 AM »
Good catch. For purposes of reference:

Quote from: CRD August 13, 2007
exert
A character cannot exert 0 times to pay the cost
of a card that requires a character to exert X
times.
You cannot pay for the cost of They Sang As They
Slew by exerting a character zero times.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

September 02, 2013, 07:19:25 AM
Reply #1963

daisukeman

  • ***
  • Information Offline
  • Troll
  • Posts: 182
  • Evil Bilbo is always appropiate for this forum
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1963 on: September 02, 2013, 07:19:25 AM »
So,.. could anyone tell me if this is a bug?


Hi All,

I'll raise:
Melilot Brandybuck, Merry Dancer + Gollum, Mad Thing
But not sure if strictly it's a bug...

At http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=daisukeman$rcstovosccecg1lz, first player to reach to site 8, you can see how Gollum is assigned by the free peoples without being given a +3 or adding a burden.. thanks to Melilot Brandybuck.

I'm no expert on these type of rulings but I sense this should be the same as Boromir, Bearer of Council + Armor (or even better, the one scenario having Morgul Destroyer / Morgul Brute + whatever prevents a wound).
In both these cases, when the wound is prevented, then the other condition kicks in.

Is this different or should be the same (a bug)?




My opinions may have changed, but not the fact that i'm right...

September 02, 2013, 07:49:00 AM
Reply #1964

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1964 on: September 02, 2013, 07:49:00 AM »
Melilot shouldn't be able to prevent Mad Thing from adding the burden, since it's the FP's choice which one to do.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.