You keep asking for rules documents to back up our side. Well, where does it say in the rules that you can choose the condition again if Deceit saves it?
"All cards do what they say, no more, no less."
It makes much more sense with my interpretation,
Interpretation of what? As far as I can tell, you aren't "interpreting" anything, you're abiding by some imaginary rule.
and since that's how Gemp does it,
Meaningless.
and no one other than you has a problem with it,
Apparently TheJord has a problem with it. I sure wish he'd weigh in on this discussion!
you are the one who is required to cite sources, not me.
As I've long said, Gemp has the power to do what it wants, Decipher be damned. But I believe MarcinS does want to play it as by-the-book official as he can.
*I* have cited sources, the CRs, the CRDs, and even the ruling given in Archives. I would prefer that
Clever Hobbits be a viable answer to
Deceit, but I *am* strictly by the book. You are a smart guy, Bib, but ultimately your opinion is meaningless unless you can support what you say via official documents or official sources. If you can do that, I would happily consider the matter to be settled. This isn't about winning the argument, this is simply about determining what the rules for these type of actions actually are. "Because I say so" and "because we always played it like that" are not valid responses to this issue.
I think I figured out where you're coming from, sgt.
You are treating condition discarding like archery fire:
That's not
exactly correct, but you're in the ballpark, because I think the same mechanic also works with multiple characters wounded at once, and (probably) with adding multiple threats simultaneously as well. With multiple character wounding, the difference is that once each character has taken 1 hit, any overage is then ignored. That's different than archery fire. The same concept applies to condition discarding, except that you can't really discard a condition more than once, because once it's gone, it's gone.
you have X scheduled discards, and you keep going until X runs out or all available conditions are gone.
Correct. "All cards do what they say, no more, no less."
The problem is, there is nothing in the rules to back up your claim.
Of
course the rules back up my claim, as I have repeatedly cited.
If the effect of a card or special ability requires
you to perform an action and you cannot,
you
must perform as much as you can and ignore the
rest.
If a player is paying costs for a card and a
response action occurs which modifies those
costs, that player must continue to
pay as many
costs as he can, even if it is no longer possible to
pay them all.
In all instances of choosing X cards to be affected by Y effect, you choose all of them at once, and then they receive their effect.
That's all well and good for you to say... it simply doesn't seem to be what the rules reflect. When you play a card, you first pay the costs, and then the card has its effects. Choosing to discard cards, and then discarding those cards, are not separate phases or steps, they are all part of the effect (or, in the case of
Clever Hobbits, the cost). The choosing and the discarding, in terms of game play, all happen simultaneously. If you interrupt that action with a response action, then once your response action concludes, the original action resumes. You didn't somehow place your response action between the choosing and the discarding, because there
is no "between" the choosing and the discarding. It all happens at the same time, according the the official rules of the game.
ETA: Actually, i have to back off this position a bit, due to the
FNF ruling (see bottom of post).
you choose all of them at once, and then they receive their effect.
Choosing cards to be discarded is
by definition part of the effect.
Sgt:
I don't understand why you think that the fact that some effect has multiple targets changes that you have to declare those target(S) the time you play that effect...
Assuming those targets are not part of the costs, then declaring targets and applying the effect to whatever targets you declared is all part of the same effect. In terms of gameplay, it happens simultaneously.
I think perhaps some people are a bit biased because they've become accustomed to the mechanics that Gemp currently employs. Gemp is fantastic! But it's not perfect, and it's not official.
I think your confusion is coming from Boromir, BoC + Armor/ Ring of Rings ruling, which is a different case.
That
is a different case, however it may be useful to examine that: The ruling you speak of, is that if
Armor or
Ring of Rings prevents Boromir from taking 2 wounds, then (logically)
Boromir was not wounded twice, and consequently the other part of his text triggers.
A response action which prevents an effect happening to a card
a single time, does
not continue to prevent additional effects from happening to that card for the duration of the original action or the phase. I think we're all agreed on that, with the
Intimidate example.
And if a response action prevents an effect from happening to a card, then (obviously)
that effect did not happen to that card.
Check this out: From CR 4.0 on Wound:
When a character is wounded by an enemy
attack, his vitality is depleted.
Place a wound
token on the character to illustrate this. Glass
beads (preferably blood red) make good tokens
for this purpose.
Wounds are always placed on a character one at
a time.
When you "wound a character," you place only
one wound.
If a card tells you to wound a number of
companions, you must choose different
companions to wound one time each (you
cannot wound a single companion more than
once).A wounded character is a character who has at
least one wound token.
If a character cannot take wounds, wounds
cannot be assigned to that character. However,
if a card prevents wounds, wounds may still be
assigned to that character.
Faramir, Wizard's Pupil reads: "Skirmish: Exert
Gandalf to prevent all wounds to Faramir."
This
prevents wounds as they are assigned to Faramir,
not the assignments themselves.
So, for the sake of argument, suppose
The Trees are Strong worked during the skirmish phase. You could use Faramir's text or
Gimli's Helm to have a
single character absorb
all of those wounds, because preventing a wound means the character was never wounded in the first place, and the prevention only prevents the wounds,
not the assignments. The rules above explicitly state that a card like
The Trees are Strong requires you to
wound different characters, but it does
not require you to
choose different characters if those characters don't actually get wounded.
Logically, the same applies to condition discarding. Yes, when you "discard a card," you only discard it once, because once it's discarded,
it's not there anymore. But if a response action
prevents the card from being discarded, then
it was never discarded. Such actions prevent a card from being discarded, but they do not prevent the assignments themselves. If a card's effect says "discard 8 conditions," then you must either discard 8 conditions,
prevent 8 conditions from being discarded, or discard all of the conditions on the table, and ignore the rest of the effects. If you still see a condition out on the table, and your card's effects tell you to keep discarding conditions, then
that is what you do.
No one, not even Decipher, has the right to change the way the game was played in the past.
You're right! But since nobody's invented a time machine yet, good luck traveling back in time to 2003.
What "Fellowship Block" means is playing the game as it was played when the first three sets were the standard environment.
"Fellowship Block" is an official Decipher format for playing the game, and it abides by whatever rules Decipher establishes to play that format. When Decipher
changed the rules, people had to abide by those changes... or else they were no longer really playing the official format. Decipher decided that Ring-bearer skirmishes could no longer be canceled, period. They applied that rule to every official format.
If Decipher released a CR today (and technically they could) saying that the only legal ring-bearer is Bearer of Council, and now you can cancel his skirmishes, would I follow it? Absolutely not. Would you?
Probably not... but then I am in
favor of house rules. I would play in the manner that was most fun for me to play, but I wouldn't delude myself into thinking that I was playing according the the official rules.
When we play Fellowship or TS block what we are doing is simulating the way the rules used to play. Regardless of what the rules say now. Its the same as if we use a card that has been banned … like anything from the first 6 sets. Is it "right" by how the CRD's read? Who cares, it is meant to simulate older conditions. 
And that's cool! It's just not official. But back to the topic at hand: As best I can tell, what Bib has suggested regarding condition discarding was
never a rule.
i've been consulting my LOTR rule books, and the response rule, which seems to be troubling us, is the rule in question. If the rule was interpreted in a vaccum I think sgt would have a point. However, the rules are not subject to a vaccum and must be looked at as a whole.
I really appreciate the effort.
Timing rules from the rulebooks I looked at (FOTR, MoM, ROTEL, and Hunters) indicate that the action of a card can be performed only once per copy of the card played and the effects of the card last the duration of the current phase (drawing from the secret sentinals example, 2 conditions may be discarded). provided cost has been played the freeps may target 2 conditions. if the shadow responds with deceit and removes 1 twilight they may cancel 1 discard. Timing rules indicate that the discarding caused by sentinels can only occur 1 time, therefore after the freeps player has selected 2 conditions they cant reactivate their decision soley because deceit was used to cancel 1 of the discards.
I agree! But then we're not talking about re-assigning a target from one card to another, we're talking about what happens to "overage" when a response action prevents part of an effect from happening. Yes, if the player in question truly had selected the two conditions he wanted discarded, then he can't change his mind in the middle of the action. But, as in the Faramir example from the CR, preventing part of an effect does not prevent the assignment, because if the effect was prevented, it never happened in the first place. If you
do prevent a condition from being discarded, the rules say I can choose that same condition again.
the cost and effect rules also play into this. the freeps player paid to discard 2 conditions and the shadow player paid to "save" 1 condition, thus 1 condition must still be discarded, regardless of the response rules because the effect paid for was not fulfilled to its fullest. that is how i interpret the rules of response, timing, and cost & effect.
Right. Which means if you only have
one condition on the table, I play a card that discards
two conditions, and you prevent your one condition from being discarded
once, then your condition is still vulnerable to being targeted with a second discard attempt. Because my card says "discard 2 conditions," only one discard was prevented, and there is still one condition on the table.
ETA: BUT, just to muddy the waters
yet again, I DO see where Bib's thought processes may be coming from after all! Again, from the 08/09/2005 CRD (not the most recent):
FORTRESS NEVER FALLEN 4 U 276
The effect of this condition's special ability
when the card has more than one token is
simultaneous. Several conditions are discarded
at the same time.
Siege Engine responds to these
discards by preventing all of them.
You have three tokens on
Fortress Never Fallenwhen you use its special ability.
You select three
Shadow conditions to be discarded (including my
Siege Engine), and discard
Fortress Never Fallen.
I use the response special ability on
Siege Engine,
which technically saves all three conditions, but
then I discard
Siege Engine to pay its own cost.
This was the ruling that was subsequently removed from later CRDs, and left out of the CR, but it does mention selecting multiple conditions first, and then responding after multiple conditions have been selected. However, it still does not address the issue of overage, nor does it say that conditions cannot be selected again, if (once response actions have concluded)
FNF's effects still dictate that more discards occur.
ETA some more: I mentioned earlier that I believe this mechanic most likely also applies to threats being added. Suppose you have 9 companions and 5 threats. Your opponent plays a card that adds 5 threats. If you do nothing, you would add 4 threats, because you can't add threats more than the number of companions you have out. BUT if you take a response action that prevents
one of the threats from being added, then you
still add 4 threats, because the effect was to add 5, you prevented one of them, but there's nothing stopping you from still taking 4 more.
ETA yet again: Here's an idea: what rulings do we have regarding actions that discard "all" conditions? Because in theory, "all" would set X to infinity, which would also mean infinite overage. If I use response actions to prevent a couple of conditions from being discarded, then after my responses are done, we still have the "discard all conditions" effect trying to resolve itself, with conditions that are still out on the table. Are there any rules or rulings that clarify the effect doesn't try to finish the job? If there are, then that would affirm the "single sweep" position.