Regarding wounds (and I guess by your interpretation conditions[which I'm okay with]), if a card says wound 8 companions, you MUST wound up to 8 companions (any left over wounds are lost IE-there are only 5 comps active), you cant wound 1 comp 2x and and 6 other comps 1x. You cant rewound a companion who has already been assigned a wound by the action.
Assigning a companion to be wounded is not the same as wounding a companion. If a wound is prevented, then that companion remains a companion who has not been wounded, and is thus still a viable target to be assigned a wound. The rules specifically support that.
It is analogous with wound 2 companions. Even if you wound gimli (with helm) and prevent the first wound, he cant be wounded again as he was already assigned one wound (yes he prevented it because he was an eligible candidate to receive a wound, but the effect of the action was wound 2 [or 8] companions).
He is not being wounded
again, because the first wound is prevented. The only way he would not remain a viable target, is if he
had been wounded, or if he was unable to take wounds for some reason.
What you are citing from the CRD: However, if a card prevents wounds, wounds may still be assigned to that character. Is discussing the difference between "can not take wounds" and "Prevent the wound."
Correct. And when it comes to preventing wounds, this does not prevent wounds from being assigned.
As per CRD 4.0, and yourself:
If a card tells you to wound a number of
companions, you must choose different
companions to wound one time each (you
cannot wound a single companion more than
once).
Correct. That bit in the parentheses is meant to clarify the ruling: You cannot wound a single companion more than once. If a wound is
prevented though, you
aren't wounding that character more than once. He is still only taking one wound, and assignments are irrelevant.
In conclusion, if an action says to wound X companions you must chose X companions. You may prevent any number of those wounds, but that does not mean you can assign a wound to a companion, prevent it, then assign another wound to the character. They may not be chosen multiple times to absorb multiple wounds.
I must completely disagree. I think the ruling says (quite specifically) exactly the opposite.
It states there that you have to choose different companions each.
No, it states you must
wound different companions each time.
If a card tells you to wound a number of
companions, you must choose different
companions to
wound one time each (you
cannot
wound a single companion more than
once).
The section in parentheses clarifies that the ruling is talking about actually taking wounds, not the assignment part. The later section adds:
If a character cannot take wounds, wounds
cannot be assigned to that character. However,
if a card prevents wounds, wounds may still be
assigned to that character.
This is then clarified even further with the Faramir example:
Faramir, Wizard's Pupil reads: "Skirmish: Exert
Gandalf to prevent all wounds to Faramir."
This
prevents wounds as they are assigned to Faramir,
not the assignments themselves.Note particularly the section, "prevents wounds
as they are assigned." This clarifies that
assigning a wound is followed immediately by
placing a wound, unless that wound is prevented. So, in the previous section:
If a card tells you to wound a number of
companions, you must choose different
companions to
wound one time each (you
cannot
wound a single companion more than
once).
...you are
not choosing 8 different companions, and only then after your choices are made wounding each one. Wounds are either applied or prevented
as they are assigned. Cards like
The Trees are Strong require you to wound different companions, but they don't actually require you to make all of your choices before the wounding begins. Again, the only way "prevents wounds
as they are assigned" can be accurate, is if each wound is prevented (or placed) immediately after it is assigned.
Perhaps this is what has gotten us all confused, and also why words like "assign" or "target" generally do not appear on cards that wound characters or discard conditions; because pointing at a card and saying "that one"
IS wounding the card, or discarding the card... unless of course the wound or discard is prevented. And I think that is the key thing here: Discarding different cards (and not the same card repeatedly) or wounding different cards (and not the same card multiple times) is a function of the rules, not something that actually creates separate phases for "assignment" and then "wounding" or "discarding."
In other words, the reason I can't use
The Trees are Strong to wound the same character over and over again,
isn't because I have to choose all of my targets before wounds are applied, it's simply because the rules require me to wound a different character each time. Assignments are still made one at a time, and a wound is applied (or prevented) immediately after each assignment.
You cannot choose Faramir in the example twice, cause he was already wounded by the card. That the wound is prevent doesnt matter,
That is absolutely incorrect. If Faramir did not take a wound token, then he was not wounded. From the CR:
When you "wound a character," you
place only
one wound.
If you did not actually place a wound on the character, then he was not wounded.
he has been targeted, so he cannot be targetted again.
The cards don't talk about targeting, they only talk about wounding. The rules specifically say:
if a card prevents wounds, wounds may still be
assigned to that character.
and
This
prevents wounds as they are assigned to Faramir,
not the assignments themselves.Preventing wounds does not prevent assignments, because preventing wounds means the character was never wounded in the first place.
Also, how come that in every big Decipher tournament, as well as online play, this has been the case?
Perhaps this actually
was the case, and you just never realized it. Or perhaps a tournament director made a mistake. That does happen, you know. In an actual live tournament (as opposed to computer software), these timing mechanics are often not as clearly delineated as people play. If a timing issue arises, they often have to backtrack to figure out just what the timing is actually supposed to be. Things like Gemp impose a formality to the rules that is often not so clearly enforced or demonstrated when people play for real. And in a real life situation, if you see a player use something like
The Trees are Strong, I think you will find that he places the wound tokens at the same time that he picks the characters to be wounded.
Is it true that Decipherv even erred all those time, that indeed the world of LOTR players is wrong and only you are right? Cant it even be posisble that you are wrong?
I think the CR is blessedly clear on this one. Wounds are prevented (or placed) as they are assigned. Preventing a wound does not prevent the assignment. "Wounding a character" means to place a wound on the character. "Wound X companions" means to wound (place one wound on) X different characters. If you don't place a wound on a character (for whatever reason), then that character was not wounded.