LotR TCG Wiki → Card Sets:  All 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 → Forums:  TLHH CC

Author Topic: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here  (Read 379463 times)

0 Members and 13 Guests are viewing this topic.

October 13, 2013, 07:36:19 AM
Reply #1965

exarrkun

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1965 on: October 13, 2013, 07:36:19 AM »
When returning One good turn deserves another to hand, you don't lose initiative if you had four cards in your hand (this one included).

October 15, 2013, 10:17:47 PM
Reply #1966

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1966 on: October 15, 2013, 10:17:47 PM »
At site 2, with Dauntless Hunter in play (and 9 in the pool and only a Witch-king in my hand), I shouldn't have been able to play Morgul Gates, because the rules state that you cannot play Morgul Gates if you can't play the accompanying Nazgul. As it was, when I clicked on Morgul Gates, it just took 2 out of the pool (for DH) and didn't let me play the WK.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

October 23, 2013, 05:58:08 AM
Reply #1967

sgtdraino

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1041
  • Ranger of Ecthelion
    • Facebook
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1967 on: October 23, 2013, 05:58:08 AM »
Yes, once the Shadows sites came out, the phrase "replacing an opponent's site if necessary" became redundant. Pathfinder and Follow Smeagol should still be able to replace your own sites.

Still no movement on this, I see. Gemp still enforces this incorrectly.
"I would have followed you, my brother... my captain... my king." - Boromir

October 23, 2013, 07:38:09 AM
Reply #1968

TheNinthPlayer

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 58
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1968 on: October 23, 2013, 07:38:09 AM »
Alright, guys... Not sure if this is backed up by the rules themselves, but doubt it, so thinking it's a bug: 

Morgul Destroyer played, player (moi) decides to add the two threats, and opponent decides to wound RB, (Gimli) to prevent.  As said Gimli is wearing Ring of Rings, he opts to take the wound as a burden...
This goes through, and the burden is recorded, but so are the two threats.  Does Morgul Destroyer need a wound specifically to prevent?  Or is this a glitch? 

http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=player9$oxs1ivahfabhgrds

Fair or not, we agreed via chat to cancel the game immediately after the incident, as neither of us knew the answer to this.  So... no game result drama going on here, just curious.
\"What about a catapult?\" -Boromir

October 23, 2013, 07:58:11 AM
Reply #1969

Merrick_H

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Moderator
  • Posts: 545
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1969 on: October 23, 2013, 07:58:11 AM »
Alright, guys... Not sure if this is backed up by the rules themselves, but doubt it, so thinking it's a bug: 

Morgul Destroyer played, player (moi) decides to add the two threats, and opponent decides to wound RB, (Gimli) to prevent.  As said Gimli is wearing Ring of Rings, he opts to take the wound as a burden...
This goes through, and the burden is recorded, but so are the two threats.  Does Morgul Destroyer need a wound specifically to prevent?  Or is this a glitch? 

http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=player9$oxs1ivahfabhgrds

Fair or not, we agreed via chat to cancel the game immediately after the incident, as neither of us knew the answer to this.  So... no game result drama going on here, just curious.
Not a bug and working as intended.  See the entry on "Effect" in the CRD 4.0:

If something happens to prevent one effect which
in turn would have prevented a second effect, the
second effect is performed.

Example:
Morgul Destroyer is played.("When you play this
minion, you may spot a Nazgûl to add 2 threats.
The Free Peoples player may wound the Ring-
bearer to prevent this.") The Free Peoples player
wounds the Ring-bearer to prevent the threats from
being added. The Free Peoples player then discards
Sapling of the White Tree. ("Response: If a ? Man
is about to take a wound, discard this artifact to
prevent that.") Because Sapling has prevented the
effect (a wound) that would have prevented Morgul
Destroyer's effect, the threats are now added.

October 23, 2013, 12:06:53 PM
Reply #1970

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1970 on: October 23, 2013, 12:06:53 PM »
The game performed correctly here. Wounding the RB is a cost of preventing the threats, so if Gimli doesn't take a wound, the threats should get added.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

October 27, 2013, 01:06:34 PM
Reply #1971

TheNinthPlayer

  • **
  • Information Offline
  • Uruk-hai
  • Posts: 58
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1971 on: October 27, 2013, 01:06:34 PM »
Cool, thanks guys
\"What about a catapult?\" -Boromir

November 04, 2013, 02:34:53 PM
Reply #1972

Legion

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 343
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1972 on: November 04, 2013, 02:34:53 PM »
Hi everyone.  I'm not entirely sure if this is a bug or not, but it feels wrong to me. 

http://www.gempukku.com/gemp-lotr/game.html?replayId=Legion$kur7f3tnztydli4x

When my opponent was at site 5, he used Phial of Galadriel, Star Glass on my Advance Scout, which had exerted in the shadow phase to make all my 4 minions roaming.  This removed the keyword Roaming from all my minions, not just my Advance Scout, preventing the fierce skirmish that would certainly have killed everyone.  Should that happen?  I performed an action that made my orcs fierce.  I may have lost that text, so cannot do it again, and the scout certainly loses the Roaming keyword, but I don't see why this should affect my other minions.  After all if he was discarded in the shadow phase they would have been roaming, though his text cannot apply when he is in the discard pile.

November 04, 2013, 03:15:54 PM
Reply #1973

Eukalyptus

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 429
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1973 on: November 04, 2013, 03:15:54 PM »
Bug. If it were the Regular or Captain, then it would be correct. Phial should just ease Scouts text which effects nothing.

November 05, 2013, 01:55:13 PM
Reply #1974

Legion

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Horseman
  • Posts: 343
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1974 on: November 05, 2013, 01:55:13 PM »
Excellent.  That's exactly what I thought.  Cheers, Euk.

November 12, 2013, 09:25:58 AM
Reply #1975

dmaz

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 555
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1975 on: November 12, 2013, 09:25:58 AM »
I'm really curious about something and would like everyone's opinion (better yet, links to actual rules, if possible).

Normally I would have just let it go, assuming I was wrong, but at a Towers tourney, way back in the day, a D Agent ruled in opposition to what the Gemp rules just allowed.

Mob wins a skirmish. He then plays Wulf from Hillman Mob (coming into play fierce and Damage +1). But, why in the world is Wulf allowed to use his game text when he was not in play at the time that the skirmish was won? Even in gemp it clearly shows "skirmish ends with a normal win" at a time when Wulf is not in play.

People argue that it works just like response events, however, logically, Wulf is not an event, thus his response will only work, if he is in play at the time that the skirmish is won (which he is not). This was the D Agent's ruling, and I'd say that in all logic, it makes sense. If you want to split hairs and say "well, Wulf comes into play just at that moment, so he's there fast enough to use the response", that sounds kind of silly, and not logical at all.

This was the first time I saw it in Gemp, but I'm sure it's come up before. I'd be surprised if everyone just ignored it, or assumed it was "do-able".

What do you guys think?

November 12, 2013, 10:27:07 AM
Reply #1976

Eukalyptus

  • ****
  • Information Offline
  • Bowman
  • Posts: 429
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1976 on: November 12, 2013, 10:27:07 AM »
Both actions are responses and thus Wulf is able to take control of a site. A skirmish does not end with a normal win, it ends when all responses and other actions that trigger at that time are done. Even placing the wound is within the skirmish, which makes Ninja Gollum so dangerous.

November 12, 2013, 02:42:28 PM
Reply #1977

bibfortuna25

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Knight
  • Posts: 1531
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1977 on: November 12, 2013, 02:42:28 PM »
Both Hillman Mob and Wulf have the same trigger, so you can indeed use Wulf's text to snag a site.
All cards do what they say, no more, no less.

November 13, 2013, 03:23:14 AM
Reply #1978

dmaz

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Marksman
  • Global Mod
  • Posts: 555
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1978 on: November 13, 2013, 03:23:14 AM »
Is there anything in any of the rules that states this? I could see arguments from both sides, as you haven't addressed the fact that Wulf was not in play at the moment the skirmish was won.

I'll start looking into the rules myself, as this could affect several other situations (though few others happen quite this way - playing a minion during the skirmish phase).


November 13, 2013, 03:48:01 AM
Reply #1979

exarrkun

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Goblin
  • Posts: 20
Re: Post your Gemp-LotR bugs here
« Reply #1979 on: November 13, 2013, 03:48:01 AM »
Is there anything in any of the rules that states this? I could see arguments from both sides, as you haven't addressed the fact that Wulf was not in play at the moment the skirmish was won.

I'll start looking into the rules myself, as this could affect several other situations (though few others happen quite this way - playing a minion during the skirmish phase).



Not in the rules, but it has been discussed before and in my country it was tournament legal.
Apparently, the behavior was the same in lotr tcg online: http://lotrtcgwiki.com/forums/index.php/topic,2275.0.html